Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Shine on Rick Wright
3,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm gettin a bass guitar this summer. I already know the basics, how to pluck the strings, how to read tabs, etc. I have no guitar experience so does anyone have any advice, tips, suggestions? thanks

·
Its never lupus
9,169 Posts
just keep playing, and learn to play slap. Thats where the fun is at. Also don't just learn tabliture, learn actual notes and stuff, its a lot better because you can see the time signature. And for strings, ghs boomer 40/45-100/105 are great all around strings. I personally love my D'addario slowounds. DR have great sound in the beginning but wear out after a while.

·
Registered
375 Posts
Keep playing.. dont worry about slap until you are completely comfortably playing normally. And for god sake... dont use a pick. Just learn a couple easy songs. Master them. Learn them to the point where you can play them without even thinking, and the same every time. Then move to a bit harder of songs, then harder, faster songs. A nice song i learned that has helped me is Calm Like a Bomb By Rage Against The Machine. Learn the intro when you are ready for a challenge. Now i could probably play it in my sleep, but it really helped at that stage. Learn very easy songs first though, just remember that. When you are ready for slap, let me know. I'm still working on it myself.

·
Its never lupus
9,169 Posts
hehe im the only bassist I know that can play slap (cept for my bass teacher) its funny because targ3t sounds a lot more experienced than me. I forgot something though, if you are really bored and wanna play bass go to www.mxtabs.net, they have great tabs.

·
Registered
375 Posts
lol i bet you've played for longer than me, but i play A LOT. When i say A LOT i mean A LOT. I can slap, im just trying to get better at it.

·
Your Worst Nightmare
5,270 Posts