Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, noob here. I am thinkning about selling / getting rid of my spyder E99 Avant for either an Ion XE, Epiphany, or Redz Ion. Sorry for the "which gun" post, but I am still undecided. Does anyone have personal experience with these guns and advise me on which gun to get. (Leaning toward the Redz Ion). Thanks

·
Paintball?
7,646 Posts
Just FYI, there is a which gun section >.<

But anyways...

Either the Ion XE or the Epiphany IMO
The REDZ Ion isn't the greatest, it only comes with a new body kit, clamping feedneck, PepperStick (great barrel though), and a REDZ bolt (not the best), and I think it also comes with a REDZ Ion trigger.

I'd get the Ion XE over the REDZ Ion because if the BOB feature, making it worlds easier to clean, and after that, you can do the stock bolt mod and make it just about the same as a REDZ bolt, but for free!

I'd get the Epiphany over the REDZ Ion because of the higher operation pressure, and because of the volume control inserts. With the Epiphany, you will never encounter shoot-down, and with a FRAEK Jr. as the stock barrel system, all you would have to do is get a FREAK BoreMaster Kit and you're good to go. A BOB body would also be something to look into for the Epiphany.

·
Registered
533 Posts
I'm purchasing an Ion XE very soon. For the bolt out back (BOB). Local shop sells them for 185.00 and Ion Regulars for 135.00! thumup:

Redz Ion looks mostly market hype. Not worth it in my opinion.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Adding to that, the BOB kit for the Epiphany is around $60. But everything else Azn said is pretty much on the dot. IMHO, I'd go for the Epiphany and upgrade it as you go along. The stock Freak Jr. barrel is nice, and you can probably find the gun for around $200. I know that compulsivepaintball.com had it for $200 before, and they (compulsive) sell on ebay as well.

·
Paintball?
7,646 Posts