Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Anne Coulter's #1 Fan
4,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm studying Int. Econ. for a final, and I'm looking at this thing called the Gini Index, which measures income equality for a country (o=perfectly equal, 100=perfectly unequal) and the US actually beat China (40.8 to 44.7) in income equality. Oh the irony.

·
Into the whole Yale thing
1,073 Posts
USA, USA, USA!

What's the most "equal" country?
I'm going to go withhhh... cuba 'cause it is communist so everybody is equal, right? :dodgy:

actaully, I'll say either a very undeveloped African country as they have no means of income so everybody is equally "well-off" or Canada or France (universal health care FTW in this case...:hug: )

Also, I wonder how its calculated? If its a raw mean of income then I see some problems. Example: Any poor pacific island/coastal country. Vietnam! Millions of poor people, but there are also many very rich playa's chillin there. So it may average out... but its not equal at all! :eek:

·
Anne Coulter's #1 Fan
4,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Norway and Denmark were about the most equal nations out of Developed countries. Most of the other more equal states were actually from Eastern Europe, which I thought was interesting. Nambia, was the least equal (actually, a lot of africa was pretty high). And finally Cuba, no info available on the ol' Cuba.

·
Anne Coulter's #1 Fan
4,291 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
oh, China is "communist" where worker equality should be stressed, but instead, they have a wider gap between rich & poor than the US.

·
Into the whole Yale thing
1,073 Posts
oh, China is "communist" where worker equality should be stressed, but instead, they have a wider gap between rich & poor than the US.
Ah. I figured it had to do with them being communist, but I was focused on the reality of China's communism so I missed it.