Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me start by saying i have no musical experience WHAT SO EVER past 4th grade music. Now the story starts.

I joined the marching band my junior year of highschool because alot of my friends were in it. I volunteered as an equipment mover (the only one at the time, of which were in HUGE demand). I got pretty friendly with the band director, who is an AWESOME guy, and him and my girl friend coaxed me into joining pit percussion in my senior year. We play non-marching instruments. IE, easy stuff.

Well, its almost 2 months into band... and me, with no musical experience, learned my parts and was all set. Had my first two performances and they were generally flawless. However... a twist happened.

Our freshman who was marching bass drum #1 cant play anymore, his back is like.. destroyed. Hes a tiny kid.

So... this led to me being promoted... to the new marching bass drum. Our first competition is on friday. I have yet to march the drill once. Let alone play the music. I got it like yesterday. Now im two months behind the rest of the band, and im learning music for the first time still... !!!! Talk about overload.

Anyway, any other band geeks out there!!

·
Certified Caffeine Addict
3,072 Posts
As a trumpet player, our drills aren't very hard... We have a relatively light instrument and are generally marching at the front of the band. I don't know what it's like to crab-walk with a 40-pound chunk of fiberglass and metal strapped to your chest, though.

·
look LOOK ! ha you looked
705 Posts
DayoftheGreek said:
First off, let me start by saying i have no musical experience WHAT SO EVER past 4th grade music. Now the story starts.