Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to paintball and consider myself in decent shape; jog 3 times a week.

I'm shocked, even a little freaked out, at how my legs are reacting after a game. Today I had to leave the field after 15 minutes because my upper thigh muscles were sore as hell, from last weeks game. The muscles don't heal in a week??? Didn't know about the strain until the game started.

Anybody else go through this?

·
Premium Member
23,657 Posts
playing paintball works muscles in different ways than running does. My advice is stretch stretch stretch:) if you experiencing cramping as well, eat bananas.

·
Registered
41 Posts
i did gymnastics for 8 years so i went through the same stuff. i agree matrix eat bananas if your cramping and if there sore work the muscles harder. if you work out with them when there sore you will actually gain more muscle then when you work out with normal muscles.

·
Premium Member
23,657 Posts
oh and a muscle strain is not the same as being sore. doing work with a strained muscle can damage things. With sore muscles, they're simply sore due to abnormal effort.

·
Premium Member
23,657 Posts
yep. better take it easy if you have those symptoms. Ice it down for a few hours each day if possible.

I used to strain my quads when I played soccer because I have an unusually long stride. It sucked, but it was never enough to keep me out for a few days. I remember one year in soccer camp I had to skip out in the final game because it hurt just to walk.

·
Registered
23 Posts
You should really see a doctor if things persist. you could have low potassium levels, or possibly even a lower back problem you don't know about.

·
Registered
6,346 Posts
Cantelope tastes so good,

·
Registered
11,482 Posts
Cantelope tastes so good,
Haha, yea, I'll have to keep that in mind.