Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long does it take for paint to biodegrade while in your ear canal? Hell, I have some antibiotic to ward of ear infection but half my head is swollen up and it hurts like hell. I was wearing a mask and all, but I got hit pretty well and my ear was loaded with paint.

·
Registered
792 Posts
Yeah you should get that checked out. Ive been shot in my ear and nothing bad has ever happened besides a ear full of paint.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah, I did see a doctor, thats how I got antibiotics. I'm wondering if my ear infection has nothing to do with bacteria and theres just paint festering in my ear. The stuffs kind of biodegradable, I think, maybe not enough though.

·
Registered
792 Posts
Maybe you have a piece of the shell lodged deep in your ear and its irritating the inside of your ear.

But I'm no doctor :shrug:

·
Superdeeduper Admin Type
17,772 Posts
I am sure that in order for the doc to diagnose an ear infection he looked inside your ear with an otoscope. At that time he would have said if you had paint in your ear or not. I am suspecting not. Generally, an ear infection is in your inner ear behind the tympanic membrane (otitis media) so paint in your ear canal will not do anything to aggrivate an inner ear infection. You just need to take the antibiotics as prescibed to get rid of it. Taking tylenol or ibuprofen will help with the pain.

However, if you have an external ear canal infection such as Otitis Externa (aka Swimmer's ear) then the paint would be a factor. However, the treatment there is generally not antibotiocs, rather a steriod eardrop known as cortisporin is used.