Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm new to paintball, just got my gun in last week, and like a newb with hardly any knowledge on the subject I went to Academy Sports and had my tanks filled and bought some Patriot Premium paintballs. We all went outside and decided to try them out on each other to see how they hurt, and boy hurt is an understatement. They kept bouncing off, giving us huge whelps.

So I went to a paintball park here in AL and bought some paintballs from them (had our guns chrono'd as well, they were shooting at 270 fps), they are called Midnight Paintballs made by Procaps. So we took those and tried them out, they didn't hurt as bad as the others but we still got big bruises and they didn't break on impact. Only one time did it break and that was a distance of 25ft. It still gave a big bruise :(

I've been browsing through the forums and I havn't seen anyone talk about paintballs being too hard, only people talking about them being too soft breaking in the barrel.

Why are we having bad luck with the PB's we're buying I don't know.

So what paintballs should I buy and is there a way I can tell if they are too hard before buying them.

Thanks

·
Registered
452 Posts
How many layers of cloths are you wearing?
I remember in the winter when i first started out i wore tons of layers with a big big coat that feels like a pillow its so bulcky becuase i didnt want the balls to hurt. I got shot like 5 times and they just bounced off me. becuase i was so soft lol.

If your not wearing alot of layers i dont know what to tell you. What marker are you using?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
They are Spyder TL-X.

The only clothing I wore was a pair of short jeans and then a pair of long jeans over the shorts. As for the shirts I wore a short sleeve shirt with a thin long sleeve jacket over it.

·
Registered
568 Posts