Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Students drop Shinerama fundraiser for illness targeting Caucasians

"Carleton University students have decided to pull out of a Canada-wide fundraiser that provides close to $1 million a year for cystic fibrosis research, given that the disease "has been recently revealed to only affect white people, and primarily men.""

dont get me wrong, I prefer a moderately politically correct world over any of the bigotry of the past.. but this is not politically correct in the sense that PC ought to be.. this is bigotry on a swing that managed to fly over the bar.

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I'm a carleton grad...

i'm not one bit surprised given the way the CUSA (the students association) has been running in the last few years and the clowns running it. It all started going downhill since that dude that lost the election like 5 years ago sued them for not winning.

When i was a student shinerama was a part of frosh and everyone got involved, and it was fun.

On the positive side, they say they will pick another charity to support. I sincerely hope they do it. But i'm afraid there are few charities as large as the cystic fibrosis foundation to give to... and im sure if i dig deep enough i would also find some ridiculous reason not to give to them too.

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm a carleton grad...

i'm not one bit surprised given the way the CUSA (the students association) has been running in the last few years and the clowns running it. It all started going downhill since that dude that lost the election like 5 years ago sued them for not winning.

When i was a student shinerama was a part of frosh and everyone got involved, and it was fun.