Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, first off I would like to inform you that I am extremely new to paintball. I have played one game of woodsball and rented some gun (I don't even remember what gun it was.) Long story short I was hooked. I plan on buying a tippman platinum 98 custom. I also am going to upgrade this gun (defenatly barrel upgrade) and I want to know if a regular 98/98c barrel will fit. I also will probably get hpa but other than that I am open to suggestions for other upgrades. Oh and would a j&j 14 in tippy 98c barrel fit tippy platinum 98c. I really want to go all out on this gun sooner or later.

·
Registered
3,032 Posts
The barrel will fit just fine. Don't waste your time on any other upgrades they don't ever accomplish much of anything to justify the cost. I'd also recommend you consider a few different markers rather than settling right away on the Tippmann. Not to knock the trusty old 98C but this is a great time to be getting started in paintball and there are plenty of fantastic and affordable entry level markers.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, I will admit I didn't look at many other markers. However I have only heard good things about 98c. I probably will only play woodsball, any suggestions on a specific gun/were to look for diffrent options?

·
Banned
14,001 Posts
i got nothing against the good old 98c (ok actually thats a lie, i do but im not getting into it) but for the money tippmann wants for it now a days you can get something much much better

look into spyder, a basic mechanical spyder will have the same performance while being shorter and lighter, just as reliable much much easier to do maintenance on (for all the tippmanns you basically have to split them in half) while costing half as much