Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to paintball (only played twice) and I have a few questions.

I've been playing with my friend's old Spider and I finally just got my new Tippmann A-5 for Christmas. Haven't gotten to try it out in a real game yet, but I'm counting the days untill Spring so I can. Ok, now to the questions.

1) I'm considering getting a new barrel for my Tippmann A-5. I found a really nice 21'' new barrel on Ebay for about 40$. Now, my question is: Does size really matter when it comes to barrels? Would a 16'' be just as good as a 20''?

2) The times I did play I enjoyed it very much. I'm a pretty decent player from what my friends have told me, and I'm just wondering if there are any painball fields around the Martinsburg, West Virgina area (if anyone has ever been there)?

3) I'm just wondering what some other people think of the A-5. Personally, I think it's great, but I just want to know some other opinions. Also, if you use a different gun, why do you like it. I'm just interested in knowing all of the pros and cons to some of the guns out there.

Well, that's it. Hope you can answer some of those questions smile.gif

·
Registered
176 Posts
1) Do not go over 16". It is unneccesary. I personally would stick with a 14" barrel, but 16" is fine.

2) http://marge.phys.washington.edu/paintball/ Go search your heart out.

3) Its not like the A-5 is a bad gun, i just would have gone with the 98 c. I dont like the whole feeding system in the A-5, its a gas hog and a blender.

I like my borg because its efficient, small, Light, and Fast with the stock board. Plus its electro-pneumatic.

·
Registered
4,618 Posts
1) dont exceed 16" like was said... anything over that will cause you to actually use more air because the barrel will slow the ball down and you'll have to turn the velocity up. most people use a 12,14, or 16"