Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
12,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know theres a few martial arts practitioners here... Theres got to be.

From age 7-13 I studied Shorin-Ryu Karate Do and earned the rank of 1st dan (black belt). I quit a few years ago. It was a combination of my instructor going away for a while (he got divorced and was out of it for about a year), and not being able to afford the tuition, but now that I can afford it, I'm going back.

This week I started working out again. I'm not interested in lifting (you'd be suprised what you can do with your body using nothing but yourself).. A lot of pushups, situps, stretching, getting my balance back.

I'm wondering what rank my instructor will want me to start as. Personally, I think I would rather start from the bottom up again... Not sure if anyone has any suggestions.

Anyways, I thought I'd just share what was on my mind... thumup:

·
I'm on your back.
1,882 Posts
9 year Shotokan student here.

You don't use your biceps and triceps to punch, so don't train them extensively, you use your hips and abs to punch.

Abs, abs, abs, core of everything. Situps, crunches, anything to work the stomach.

·
We The People
5,925 Posts
7 years Isshin Ryu, brown belt.
I'm taking a break because of a.)Tuition is expensive and b.)College is time consuming & expensive.

Agreed with working the abs. Also work the legs. A lot. Balance and power all stem from the legs. Power does come from the abs, but it goes through the legs first. If you're not planted, you won't punch hard. Think of it like a 1,000HP car with crappy traction.

Keep us updated.

-Jin

·
12,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #6