Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie in paintball, like scenario games, played a few times in the woods with beat-up rental Tippmann 98's and noticed I really have no chance against few guys with tactical-type longer barrel guns. So I'm looking for my own tactical marker on a tight budget.

I have Tippmann Alpha Black and BT Omega in my shortlist and I need advice about which one to choose: as far as I understand they are both essentially almost the same design (Tippman 98-derived) but made by two different (but related) companies.

- How do they compare in reliability, accuracy, distance, maintenance, weight?

- Is it correct that BT Omega has longer barrel? I seems like it has 14" vs 11" on Alpha black - am I correct?. Then it should be slightly more accurate and maybe cover more distance than Alpha Black? Anybody compared the two and is it true?

- Will their accuracy and distance be considerably better than rental Tippman 98's? After being used to airsoft pinpoint accuracy it seemed just awful, all over the place.

- Is it worth it to put red dot on either of those? Would hopper get in the way if I install AR-15 rail on top of carrying handle and put reddot sight there? How do I properly set the the reddot sight so I could use it for different distances?

Any advice appreciated! Thanks!

·
Premium Member
9,221 Posts
- How do they compare in reliability, accuracy, distance, maintenance, weight?
Other than weight, they're identical.

- Is it correct that BT Omega has longer barrel? I seems like it has 14" vs 11" on Alpha black - am I correct?. Then it should be slightly more accurate and maybe cover more distance than Alpha Black? Anybody compared the two and is it true?
Barrel length in paintball past ~6" will have no discernable affect on accuracy