Paintball Guns and Gear forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am completely new to paintball .. I am looking at the Tippmann 98 Custom Pro Platinum Series ACT Paintball Marker, Digi Camo .. If I want to upgrade this gun, will parts from a Tippmann 98 Custom (ex. collapsible stock) work with this 98 Custom Pro? I dont know much about the upgrades .. Please dont flame me, im just trying to learn. Thanks.

Also, can anyone recommend a website for upgrades for a Tippmann 98 Custom Pro?

·
Administrator
14,012 Posts
the best upgrade for a 98 are as follows

1) HPA
2) good hopper (not the cyclone)
3) J&J ceramic barrel (12"-16" your choice, also if you really want to get a barrel, you can put this on top)
4) sell it and get a new marker, trust me on this, you can get soooo much more preformance out of other markers for tons less than it takes to upgrage a 98 to only get luke warm preformance.

honestly id highly recomend you start with something different, look into spyders, they are imo the best starting markers out there, simple to work on (tippmanns are a huge pain) parts are cheap, and you get more preformance stock for less than the 98

go look into the vs1 if you want to use co2, and the vs2 if you want to use HPA

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok cool I am looking at the tippmann because I want mine to look like an m4 .. Also the paintball gun is for backyard woodsball on my private property with about 10 friends.. Nothing tournament related for me.. Just something to keep me outside and away from the tv..

·
Administrator
14,012 Posts
a marker that is made for speedball will do just as good if not better than one thats designed for woodsball, the only difference between speedball and woodsball is what your hiding behind

just ask youself this

would you rather have a marker that looks better, or would you rather have one that preforms better?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Flatline